Minor PBP issue found. plus PBP questions

Use the forum to ask questions about how to play Digital Diamond Baseball

Minor PBP issue found. plus PBP questions

Postby royalblue23 » Sat Sep 23, 2017 8:31 pm

Hi,

I am new to Digital Diamond Baseball. The game seems very robust, and I like the ability to create and edit players since I am into fictional play and would like to bring my own preexisting players and teams into the game.

The one thing that I really don't care for is the existing play-by-play, but I see there is a way to create my own. I also understand that some other gamers have created custom PBP.

In the process of reading the systemPBP.properties file to get an idea how this works, I ran into two PBP descriptions that apparently will never be executed due to typos.

Both of these typos are misspellings of the word "often" and can be found easily using Find (and/or Replace). The first is "ofnte" and the second is "ofte." with a dot. The dot is crucial if you do a replace, or otherwise you might be replacing ALL instances of the word "often".

I did not see any other typos. I went ahead and edited my copy of systemPBP.properties, but I realize that this isn't something I should make a habit of doing.

Now for my questions. If I want to create user PBP, do I create ONLY the custom PBP in the userPBP.properties file, or do I need to copy and paste all the systemPBP.properties contents into the userPBP.properties file? Second, is it possible for me to download custom PBP that other gamers have already created as a mod?

Thanks.

John
royalblue23

Re: Minor PBP issue found. plus PBP questions

Postby DDBBAdmin » Sun Sep 24, 2017 11:42 am

Hi John,

I am glad you are enjoying the game! Thanks for pointing out the spelling errors. I have added this issue to our bug tracking system and they will be fixed in the next release.